The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

Wives, not cheerleaders II

leave a comment »

I know we have been here before, but I so enjoyed the way that Mr Trueman puts it that I thought it was worth revisiting:

Of all the many earthly blessings the Lord has given me, from friendship with Derek Thomas (for my sanctification) to that with Paul Levy (just have to cling blindly to Rom. 8:28 on that one), having a normal, down-to-earth wife is surely the greatest.

Indeed, when asked by a student spouse the other week how she kept up with reading all that I read so that she could support me in my work, my wife’s response (worthy of Newman himself) was ‘Read what he’s reading??? Lovey, I don’t even bother to read what he’s writing!’ In fact, she famously claims never to have read anything I have ever written. Why should she? She lives with me and knows what I am really like; and her interest in my job is primarily that of ‘does it pay the mortgage and enable him to be a decent husband?’ not `is he changing the world or hanging with the right people?’

Splendid, with the added benefit of being true. Read it all.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Thursday 10 February 2011 at 15:37

Posted in family

Tagged with ,

By all means, consider chipping in . . .