The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

Jesus, nothing, everything

with one comment

David Murray has some very helpful interaction with Tullian Tchividjian on the substance of his book, Jesus + Nothing = Everything. In three parts, he considers the confusion of justification with sanctification; the confusion from making our own experience the norm for others; and, the confusion of our standing with God and our experience and enjoyment of God.

I think David is making some important points that point us away from error and toward truth in our understanding of holiness and its pursuit.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Thursday 15 December 2011 at 22:23

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for linking to this! In the writings of people like Calvin and John Murray, I see an emphasis on union with Christ, which has helped me a lot in working out this in my mind. I am accepted as righteous in Christ. I’m given the Spirit of holiness in Christ. If I am in Christ, I am a new creature. JI Packer’s chapter on adoption in Knowing God was extremely helpful to me as well. Union/adoption really does tie up these things in my mind. I look up to Christ, who is for me wisdom and righteousness and sanctification and redemption. Jesus + Nothing does equal Everything because all I need is found in Him.

    MarieP

    Saturday 17 December 2011 at 02:25


By all means, consider chipping in . . .