The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

On the road again

leave a comment »

Last Lord’s day I spent the day at Alexandra Road Congregational Church in Hemel Hempstead, pastored by Ian Densham.  I have known Ian for several years, largely through his labours in recording sermons at the annual Banner of Truth conferences for young people and for ministers.  The previous minister at Alexandra Road was the much-missed John Marshall.  I did preach for Mr Marshall (memorably for me, on the weekends immediately before and after his death some years ago), and once or twice afterwards, but this was the first time I have sought to fill Ian’s shoes.

It was my privilege to spend the day with Mrs Susan Marshall, Mr Marshall’s widow, who has an overflowing heart for God and his people, and who is a delightfully straightforward and forthright mother in Israel, who stands no messing, and for whom the word “doughty” might have been coined.  She also had the Toms family over for the day, a lovely family with whom – since I first preached the church – I have enjoyed an easy and warm relationship.  To learn more about Mr Marshall, I recommend John J. Murray’s John E. Marshall: Life and Writings (Banner of Truth).  John Marshall was in many respects an archetype of the man we need for these days.

I preached in the morning from Hebrews 7.25, on Salvation to the uttermost.  This is a sermon that I have used before, but it speaks truths of which I never tire.  It is truth that I would gladly seek to preach anywhere: “Therefore he is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through him, since he always lives to make intercession for them.”  I asked and sought to answer three simple questions: What is Jesus Christ able to do?  For whom does Jesus Christ do this?  How does Jesus Christ do this?  The answers spring from the words of the text themselves.  It does my own soul good to know and preach these glorious realities, with a view to calling the unsaved to faith and encouraging the faith of God’s own.

In the evening I returned to Mark 4 to preach again on The growing seed.  My mind and heart turned to this because of Mr Marshall’s faithful sowing in Hemel Hempstead: every Saturday for years he could be found in the local marketplace declaring God’s free grace in Christ to all and sundry.  I wanted to encourage the saints there to maintain such a faithful witness, and to anticipate that God’s word that goes forth from his mouth shall not return to him void, but it shall accomplish what he pleases, and it shall prosper in the thing for which he sent it (Is 55.11).

Incidentally, John J. Murray is preaching at Alexandra Road’s anniversary weekend (twice on Saturday, twice on the Lord’s day) this coming weekend (05-06 Jun 08).  Those with an opportunity might consider going to hear this man of God bring the Word of his truth to the church of Christ.

This last few days one of my wife’s sisters has been visiting us, so on Monday we drove around, visiting Brighton – a truly needy place in spiritual terms – and various other places not too far from Crawley.  It was a pleasant day in many respects, and a good break from some of the labours of the last few days.  Today was back to whatever passes for normal.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Tuesday 1 July 2008 at 18:12

By all means, consider chipping in . . .