The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

“I ask . . .”

leave a comment »

Daniel Baker, a godly evangelist of the 19th century who criss-crossed the American South, recorded this prayer in his diary:

To thee, O my God, do I commit myself, and again would I solemnly renew the dedication of myself and my all to thy service.  O condescend to accept the unworthy offering, and lay me out for thy glory.  I ask not to be rich in silver and gold, and to be admired and caressed; I ask to be rich in faith and good works, and to be blessed and owned in my labours of love.  I ask not to be exempted from grievous trials and persecutions, but I ask grace to glorify thee in the hour of trial; grace to be useful, grace to be triumphant in death, and grace to reach, at length, the Mount Zion above, where I may for ever sing the triumphs of my dearest Lord.  To thee, O my God, do I now commit my way; be pleased to direct my paths, for the Redeemer’s sake.  Amen.

What more or better could we ask?

Written by Jeremy Walker

Monday 30 June 2008 at 09:35

Posted in General

Tagged with ,

By all means, consider chipping in . . .