The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

“Man Overboard!: The Story of Jonah”

with one comment

Sinclair Ferguson’s study of Jonah, entitled Man Overboard!, is being republished by the Banner of Truth. I have yet to read anything by Professor Ferguson that was not worth reading. I was looking for this book a few months ago, and eventually found a couple of copies on a well-known book purchasing website. I promptly wrote to the stores selling this title to suggest that they had made an error in their listing, and could I have the book for £10.40 or £12.70, as surely it wasn’t selling for £104 and £127. A note from one seller confirmed that the comedy pricing was accurate, so – with an electronic snort of indignation – I ditched the notion of a quick purchase.

Needless to say, I am delighted that the Banner are republishing this, and at the slightly more reasonable price of $12 (probably about £6). I don’t doubt that this will be worth getting, reading, and digesting. I can’t remember whose book recommendation suggested that one should sell his second-best pair of trousers to buy a given volume, but at least now you won’t have to put your entire wardrobe on Ebay in order to get this particular treat.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Tuesday 20 May 2008 at 08:42

Posted in Book notices

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. See the review here.

    Jeremy Walker

    Saturday 9 August 2008 at 10:32


By all means, consider chipping in . . .