The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

“In dark of night, when hell comes knocking”

with 2 comments

9 9 9. 6

In dark of night, when hell comes knocking,
And demons all around are flocking,
And every sin and fear is mocking,
Lord, save me then, I pray.

At break of day, when tears are flowing,
And every fear and doubt is growing,
And there seems neither faith nor knowing,
Lord, save me then, I pray.

At every hour, with sin assailing,
When every tempting thought is wailing,
And every hope is quickly failing,
Lord, save me then, I pray.

In that great day, with angels soaring,
When praise from every saint is pouring,
I’ll look to Christ, and cry, adoring:
“Lord, save me now, I pray.”

©JRW

See all hymns and psalms.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Monday 17 October 2011 at 16:52

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. AMEN!!!

    mariep

    Tuesday 18 October 2011 at 03:19

  2. I’ve just put a link to this on my blog. Appreciated this poem.

    Sarah

    Wednesday 2 November 2011 at 21:48


By all means, consider chipping in . . .

