The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

God’s will and man’s courage

leave a comment »

My mother was reading a sermon on “Christian resignation” by Charles Spurgeon drawn from Christ’s words to his Father recorded in Matthew 26.39, “Not as I will, but as you will.” She passed this paragraph to me, commenting that this was something she could imagine I would write. I read it to my wife. She said, “I’ve heard that from you often enough.” So, hiding behind Spurgeon’s skirts, here we go on the holy resolve that follows from genuine Christian resignation to accomplish God’s will, spoken as I would and as Spurgeon could:

So, this resignation to God’s will gives, first, joy in the heart, and then it gives fearless courage; and yet another thing follows from it. As soon as anyone truly says, “Not as I will, but as thou wilt,” this resolve tends to make every duty light, every trial easy, every tribulation sweet. We should never feel it to be a hard thing to serve God; yet there are many people, who, if they do a little thing for the Lord, think so much of it; and if there is ever a great thing to be done, you have, first, to plead very hard to get them to do it; and when they do it, very often it is done so badly that you are half sorry you ever asked them to do it. A great many people make very much out of what is really very little. They take one good action which they have performed, and they hammer it out till it becomes as thin as gold leaf, and then they think they may cover a whole week with that one good deed. The seven days shall all be glorified by an action which only takes five minutes to perform; it shall be quite enough, they even think, for all time to come. But the Christian, whose will is conformed to God’s will, says, ‘My Lord, is there anything else for me to do? Then, I will gladly do it. Does it involve want of rest? I will do it. Does it involve loss of time in my business? Does it involve me, sometimes, in toil and fatigue? Lord it shall be done, if it is thy will; for thy will and mine are in complete agreement. If it is possible, I will do it; and I will count all things but loss that I may win Christ, and be found in him, rejoicing in his righteousness, and not in mine own.’

Written by Jeremy Walker

Friday 19 August 2011 at 23:09

By all means, consider chipping in . . .

