The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

STOP!

with one comment

As some readers will know, David Murray, with whom I have been enjoying a growing acquaintance, was recently struck down with multiple pulmonary emboli. Others may remember that a few weeks ago, I was battered with something called Ramsay-Hunt syndrome in conjunction with a few other trials. Like David, I felt that I was getting something of a wake-up call; like David, I wrestled with the profitability of trying to work through some of the challenges in public, before breaking cover with a few thoughts; unlike David, I was not particularly cogent.

David has now posted the key lessons from his own experience of being laid aside, and it is necessary reading for all Christians, and perhaps especially for pastors. In particular, David identifies a frightening but ever-present danger for the busy Christian:

Let me summarize where I believe I erred: ministry without spirituality. Perfunctory and spiritual disciplines and going from one ministry activity to another to another to another, with hardly a moment to feel dependence upon God, cry for help, and seek the Lord’s blessing before, during, or after. Cramming every waking moment with “productive” activity. And certainly not a second in the day to “be still and know that I am God.”

But now, in the enforced stillness, I hear a loving and concerned God say, “My son, give me your heart.” Not your sermons, not your lectures, not your blogs, not your books, not your meetings, etc. But your heart. YOU!

Again, like David, I had a wake-up call; sadly, I forget too quickly. I now have the benefit of David’s wake-up call as a reminder of the lessons I had not properly learned or fully remembered. Do read it all.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Wednesday 1 June 2011 at 12:33

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We lost our lovely 3 year old daughter a couple of months ago. It is impossible to put it into words but as Calvinists we know there is a purpose. One of them must be that I will be more humble before the Lord. Yet already I see that this i…s so hard to learn. We cannot just change unless God’s grace is granted. Ultimately it has made me feel more urgent to preach the Gospel but these other personal qualities of which you speak are vital. Without humble, yea even broken, love for the Lord our preaching is vain.

    Peter Ratcliff

    Wednesday 1 June 2011 at 15:28


By all means, consider chipping in . . .

