The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

My breaking ministry

with 2 comments

Some people have an alleged healing ministry. Today, I am glad to announce my own breaking ministry.

This week, around me, near me, or under my hands, the following have broken:

  • My car (a splendid puncture).
  • My computer (a total crash, requiring a complete reinstall, and a brand new machine at that, and don’t tell me to buy a Mac, I might have to shoot you).
  • My reading light (which just disintegrated).
  • My shed door handle (a combination of wear, tear, and being levered open by criminals a couple of times).

Clearly, I am a dangerous person to be around, but may have a role in the demolition industry at some point in the future.

This is why things have been even slower than usual on the blog. And, if you think this has been slow, you should see the rest of my life at the moment!

Two afterthoughts:

Afflictions keep the hearts of the saints humble and tender. Prosperity does not contribute more to the puffing up the soul, than adversity does to the bowing down of the soul. This the saints by experience find; and therefore they can kiss and embrace the cross, as others do the world’s crown. The more the purest spices are beaten and bruised – the sweeter scent and fragrance they send abroad. So do saints when they are afflicted. (Thomas Brooks)

Christians, by their afflictions, gain more experience of the power of God supporting them, of the wisdom of God directing them, of the grace of God refreshing and cheering them, and of the goodness of God quieting and quickening of them to a greater love to holiness, and to a greater delight in holiness, and to a more vehement pursuing after holiness. (Thomas Brooks)

Written by Jeremy Walker

Saturday 9 April 2011 at 07:10

Posted in General

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think I have anything to say :-)

    (M**s die too)

    Paul Wallace

    Saturday 9 April 2011 at 07:37

  2. You obviously have a rare and powerful gift.

    Macs are great but they’re NIGHTMARISHLY expensive. Get a cheap PC then when you break it you can just get another. You can afford to destroy 4 cheap PCs for the sake of the most basic Macbook.

    LeGallois

    Saturday 9 April 2011 at 08:32


By all means, consider chipping in . . .

