The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

The last gifts

with one comment

For the last few days, I have been visiting a friend dying in hospital. I have known this man for the last few years, and he has gone from being strong in body, mind and spirit to being weak indeed.

What can I do for him now? What can I still give?

Flowers? No, the hospital will not permit them in his room, and he would not be able to appreciate them.

Books? No, for he lacks the strength to hold them and the sight to read them.

Food? No, for he can no longer eat, and only drips of water have gone into his body over the last ten days.

Clothes? No, for his emaciated frame will not need them for much longer.

What can I give? The only things I have left to give are truth and love. I can speak of the love of God in Christ and show love by being there and caring as I can. Not to deny the other things, of course, but this actually helps to set priorities for those who are not on their deathbeds. What do men need more than truth and love? We should not wait until death looms before we give these gifts. The only time to prepare for death is life. Not only must I prepare others, God helping me, but I myself must so live as to be ready to die.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Thursday 11 November 2010 at 10:12

Posted in Christian living

Tagged with , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you. I visit one or who folks who can hardly communicate and hardly hear. I wonder what I can say, why I am there almost, sometimes. You have just poignantly reminded me why.

    Jonathan Hunt

    Thursday 11 November 2010 at 10:58


By all means, consider chipping in . . .

