The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

The basics

leave a comment »

What do I actually need to do? What are my priorities? Obviously, there is family time and investment, and chores and home maintenance. It cannot be all work, so there must be a little recreation. But, apart from the rather tiresome and time-consuming businesses of eating, sleeping, and washing (in all three of which I probably over-indulge), what are the actual necessities? I think I got it narrowed down yesterday to the following, in no particular order:

  • Read.
  • Pray.
  • Meditate.
  • Write (including correspondence).
  • Preach and teach.
  • Visit and counsel.
  • Exercise.
  • Confer.

If it is that straightforward, why is there never enough time for it all?

UPDATE: I forgot administration and bureaucracy, a necessity forced upon me by a cruel world. That might answer the question.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Thursday 11 November 2010 at 10:31

Posted in Christian living, General

Tagged with

By all means, consider chipping in . . .

