The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

Jesus’ joy and ours

leave a comment »

In his outstanding Glimpses of the Inner Life of Our Lord (Tentmaker Publications, 1995), William G. Blaikie comments on the joy of Christ, and how ours might be a mirror of his:

For let us mark, ere we close, how Christ indicates that when His joy abides in us our joy is full. “These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full.” Joy depends much less on what we have, than on what we are. You may give me this and that, and everything that can be thought of, yet raise in my soul no wave of joy. But change me inwardly; make me like Jesus; let me, like Him, hate wickedness and love righteousness with the whole force of my nature; let me abide, like Him, in the Father’s love; let my heart, like His, flow over with loving feelings on every side; let me, like Him, delight in doing God’s will, and in finishing, day by day, the work given me to do; let me, like Him, live in expectation of the glory that is to be revealed when He appears with His holy angels, and His redeemed are all gathered from the east and from the west, from the north and from the south; shall not my joy then be pure, deep and real: a joy unspeakable and full of glory?

The lighter forms of joy, when they involve no sin, need not be banished from our life – bodily recreation, social mirth, lively books and lively conversation. But their place will be secondary; the great fountain will be Christ’s fountain. Nay, we will be jealous over ourselves with godly jealousy, lest we so drink of the lighter joys of life as to spoil our relish for the deeper river that makes glad the city of our God.

Fountain of living waters, of which he that drinks shall never thirst again, happy they that dwell beside thee, and drink thy crystal stream! There is gladness in their hearts more than in the time when the corn and wine are most abundant to others. This, too, it is their privilege to know, that when all life’s sorrows are past, and their feet stand within the gates of the New Jerusalem, it is the same joy they shall experience, but in far higher measure, when the Lamb in the midst of the throne shall feed them, and lead them by living fountains of water, and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes. (90-91)

Written by Jeremy Walker

Tuesday 19 October 2010 at 09:21

By all means, consider chipping in . . .

