The Wanderer

"As I walked through the wilderness of this world . . ."

Searching questions

leave a comment »

solitaryLewis Allen lists questions supplied by John Wesley for two or three warm-hearted and close-knit friends to use when in each other’s company as a means of mutual spiritual (self-)examination.

As Martin Downes notes, our answers to these questions should send us to Calvary, not to Sinai.

If you find these stimulating, you might also enjoy this record of the kind of questioning that went on among the Calvinist Methodists of Wales when they gathered together.

  1. Am I consciously or unconsciously creating the impression that I am better than I am? In other words, am I a hypocrite?
  2. Am I honest in all my acts and words, or do I exaggerate?
  3. Do I confidentially pass onto another what was told me in confidence?
  4. Am I a slave to dress, friends, work, or habits?
  5. Am I self-conscious, self-pitying, or self-justifying?
  6. Did the Bible live in me today?
  7. Do I give it time to speak to me every day?
  8. Am I enjoying prayer?
  9. When did I last speak to someone about my faith?
  10. Do I pray about the money I spend?
  11. Do I get to bed on time and get up on time?
  12. Do I disobey God in anything?
  13. Do I insist upon doing something about which my conscience is uneasy?
  14. Am I defeated in any part of my life?
  15. Am I jealous, impure, critical, irritable, touchy or distrustful?
  16. How do I spend my spare time?
  17. Am I proud?
  18. Do I thank God that I am not as other people, especially as the Pharisee who despised the publican?
  19. Is there anyone whom I fear, dislike, disown, criticize, hold resentment toward or disregard?  If so, what am I going to do about it?
  20. Do I grumble and complain constantly?
  21. Is Christ real to me?

Written by Jeremy Walker

Tuesday 4 August 2009 at 10:05

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

