The Wanderer

"As I walked through the wilderness of this world . . ."

Why Easter makes me a Sabbatarian

with 5 comments

Responding to an article in which the author claimed that Easter prevents his being a Sabbatarian, Iain D. Campbell at Reformation21 responds graciously with a piece on precisely why Easter makes him hold to a Lord’s day, concluding:

This has become something of a test case for interpreters and theologians, but I still feel obliged to argue for the abiding moral authority of all ten commandments; our point of departure is that the law is ordained by God, and recast in a new form in the new covenant era, as the law is now engraved onto new hearts by God’s Spirit. After all, that is what the Old Testament anticipated in Jeremiah 31:33: ‘I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts’.

It seems to me that the position that bests suits the biblical evidence is precisely that of the Westminster Confession of Faith, that the Sabbath of Sinai becomes the Lord’s Day of the resurrection, joyfully set apart by God’s people as their day of special witness and corporate worship. If we deregulate our time and make times of worship according to our own minds and consciences, we descend into the worst form of subjectivism and indiscipline in our Christian lives.

Christ deserves much more. He is our Lord. He is Lord of the Sabbath. He is Lord of all our days. Let us observe the rest he offers and the time for worship and devotion which he gives, that all our days shall be spent in happy service for him until he comes and brings the final Sabbath rest with him.

I am teaching through this topic in the church in Crawley at present, and – while I would doubtless have some slightly different nuances to Iain – I think we arrive at substantially the same place. Read all Iain’s brief piece here.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Tuesday 14 August 2012 at 15:15

Posted in Doxology

Tagged with

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The more I read this kind of thing the further I move away from it.

    Jonathan Hunt

    Tuesday 14 August 2012 at 15:42

    • Which kind of thing, and which it?

      Jeremy Walker

      Tuesday 14 August 2012 at 15:46

      • Sabbatarianism. IDC’s article is littered with straw men. For example, implying that Exodus 16 disproves what John was saying. But I’m on holiday and I shouldn’t be doing this…

        Jonathan Hunt

        Tuesday 14 August 2012 at 15:54

        • Given that you’re on holiday, I won’t go on at length, except to say that the Exodus 16 passage is not irrelevant. The principle of a Sabbath rest was established at creation (given to man as man); Exodus 16 simply shows that this principle was indeed present and operative prior to the giving of the Ten Commandments at Sinai. It is part of the demonstration of the continuity and abiding relevance of the Sabbath principle (not a match to torch a straw man), which finds its New Covenant form in the Lord’s day. Anyway . . .

          Jeremy Walker

          Tuesday 14 August 2012 at 16:24

  2. It was preaching through Exodus which changed my mind. All Exodus 16 shows is that the Sabbath is given to Israel in Exodus 16. I know I’m signing my death warrant by daring to stick my head over the parapet but there you have it. I take exception to the London Baptist Confession on this point and just in case there are any nosy troublemakers out there reading this, my church was aware of that before I was called as Pastor. Now I promise to return to silence here in this Somerset cottage!

    Jonathan Hunt

    Tuesday 14 August 2012 at 22:05


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

