The Wanderer

"As I walked through the wilderness of this world . . ."

Paternal acknowledgements and hopes

leave a comment »

Thomas Fuller (chaplain to Oliver Cromwell):

Lord, I find the genealogy of my Savior strangely checkered with four remarkable changes in four immediate generations. (1) Rehoboam begat Abijah; that is, a bad father begat a bad son. (2) Abijah begat Asa; that is, a bad father begat a good son. (3) Asa begat Jehoshaphat; that is, a good father a good son. (4) Jehoshaphat begat Joram; that is, a good father a bad son. I see, Lord, from hence that my father’s piety cannot be entailed; that is bad news for me. But I see also that actual impiety is not always hereditary; that is good news for my son.

HT Main Things.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Tuesday 14 August 2012 at 09:23

Posted in family

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

