The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

Some book bits

with one comment

I am giving a little time at present to editing what I hope will be a shortly-forthcoming volume from Reformation Heritage Books. American usage has dictated a very subtle change of title – “You better drop that hyphen if you know what’s good for you, punk!” – and so we are now working on The Brokenhearted Evangelist. In addition to John MacArthur’s kind commendation, Conrad Mbewe has also been kind enough to offer this endorsement:

Jeremy Walker’s book is in the tradition of the Puritan classic, Joseph Alleine’s Alarm to the Unconverted, but this is more Jeremy Walker’s Alarm to the Converted. It is a pleasant surprise, coming as it does from a part of our world where Christianity has largely entered a “garrison” (bunker) mode. The book, based on Psalm 51:13, is not meant simply to teach us about evangelism; it demands a verdict. He enlists the help of the great soul winners in history to reinforce his appeals. Even before I finished reading the book, I was already asking myself whether my heart was truly broken about the lost around me – and if it is, what am I doing about it?

Furthermore, there may be some assistance required – perhaps in the form of a competition – in selecting an appropriate cover for the book. More news on that as we get closer to publication, I hope.

Finally, I intend to finish the short reviews of pastoral books before long (and already have a couple more to add to those completed). Neither have I forgotten the promised competition in celebration of the initial completion of the list. Part of the delay is because I am waiting to identify and receive the prizes. So, please continue to watch this space, and we will see what we can come up with.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Tuesday 25 October 2011 at 10:16

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] regular readers might know, there is another book forthcoming, called The Brokenhearted Evangelist. Reformation Heritage Books, in a fit of generosity, have […]

    Covering your bases « The Wanderer

    Wednesday 2 November 2011 at 19:25


By all means, consider chipping in . . .