The Wanderer

"As I walked through the wilderness of this world . . ."

Psalm 31: “In you, O Lord, I put my trust”

leave a comment »

Milwaukee C.M.

Psalm 31
In you, O Lord, I put my trust,
Let me not suffer shame;
Please hear me and deliver me,
I call upon your name.

You are my rock, my fortress strong:
My mighty God and true;
From secret snares of wicked foes,
Deliverance comes from you.

[ I hate all those who idols serve,
My trust is in the Lord;
I will rejoice, and readily
Your mercies I record.

For my affliction you have seen,
And known me, low and poor,
From enemies delivered me,
And made my way secure. ]

Show mercy to this troubled man,
And send my soul relief;
My years roll on with tears and woes,
My strength consumed with grief.

My foes have made me a reproach,
My friends and neighbours flee;
A broken vessel, slandered, scorned,
Foes scheming death to me.

But as for me, in you I trust:
“You are my God,” I cried;
“My life and times are in your hand;
In you I will abide.”

Lord, make your face to shine on me,
Let me not be brought low;
But shame the wicked, stop their lies,
Your righteous judgments show.

How great your goodness, mighty God,
Laid up for those who fear;
You hide them in your secret place,
And keep them ever near.

What kindness God has shown to me,
What love to him we owe!
Take courage, God makes strong your heart;
Jehovah’s hope you know.

©JRW

See all hymns and psalms.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Thursday 27 May 2010 at 23:30

Posted in Hymns & psalms

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 456 other followers

