The Wanderer

As I walked through the wilderness of this world …

Preaching Christ from the Old Testament

with 5 comments

A couple of helpful resources, the first of which I found by way of recommendation many moons ago, and the second of which I just found today.

While I would recommend tracking down audio of this material (which I think he has preached at a Banner of Truth Conference in the US), Ted Donnelly has given nine directives (the first version I heard had only six, so he is obviously developing this as he goes) that help us to preach Christ from the Old Testament:

  1. Face up to the predispositions.
  2. Follow the pattern.
  3. Cultivate the perspective.
  4. Grasp the plot.
  5. Look for the promise.
  6. Explore the parallels.
  7. Apply the precedents.
  8. Watch the pendulum.
  9. Love the person.

Sinclair Ferguson has also written a Proclamation Trust pamphlet on this topic, subtitled “Developing a Christ-centred instinct.”  Insisting that you need an instinct for this rather than a formula, he provides four pointers:

  1. The relationship between promise and fulfilment.
  2. The relationship between type and antitype.
  3. The relationship between the covenant and Christ.
  4. Proleptic [anticipatory] participation and subsequent realisation.

Having preached yesterday on Exodus 17, I am at once corrected and directed and encouraged by the insights of these masters of their craft.

Written by Jeremy Walker

Monday 24 August 2009 at 12:00

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jeremy,

    Those are both useful. I had read that PT document before but not Pr. Donnelly’s…the latter’s points about overemphasis, and pendulum swinging are important.

    For what its worth, I have found Sidney Greidanus’ “Preaching the OT as Christian Scriptures” very helpful, though I believe Ted’s caveats need to be carefully observed even in the read of this book. I think Greidanus’ 7 ways of finding Christ are excellent, and his material on typology is superb in my opinon.

    P

    Paul

    Monday 24 August 2009 at 12:55

    • Thanks, Paul. I think I recall you commending Greidanus back when you were blogging. Good to hear from you, and thanks for the encouragement. I think I will have to have a look at Greidanus at some point.

      Jeremy Walker

      Monday 24 August 2009 at 22:50

      • Actually I think I was sleeping when I typed yesterday…right author name wrong book name…the book I should have referred you to was “Preaching Christ from the Old Testament”. The one I gave you yesterday was a mixed up reference to Graeme Goldsworthy’s volume Preaching the Whole Bible as Christian Scripture. That to is a useful volume, but I think there is a clearer covenantal understanding and emphasis in Griedanus.

        Paul

        Tuesday 25 August 2009 at 09:12

        • I saw Greidanus’ volume (he actually has several dealing with this and related issues) when I was sorting out this post, so I knew which one you meant. For anyone interested, this is it.

          Jeremy Walker

          Tuesday 25 August 2009 at 10:39

  2. I really like it Jeremy, I used it as the main source for a recent 9 or 10 week Sunday School class, obviously from a reader rather than a preacher perspective. The folks really appreciated it.

    Paul

    Tuesday 25 August 2009 at 21:44


By all means, consider chipping in . . .

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 472 other followers

